FOOD! (Maine food that will keep us alive over the next year. No big.)

“A good farmer is nothing more nor less than a handy man with a sense of humus.”

- E.B. White

 

Research has never been so fun! (or stressful). Here are some staples that we’ve found! Sometimes it takes a bit of looking, but Maine food products are really out there! Really!

Stone Ground Whole Wheat Flour
Harris Farm
Dayton, Maine

Tony’s Honey
Bucksfield, Maine
(delicious! but we’ll be looking for something closer)

Kate’s Homemade Butter
Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Pineland Farms
Yarmouth, Maine

Fiddler’s Green Farm
Belfast, Maine

Ricker Hill Orchards
Turner, Maine

Wyman’s of Maine
Cherryfield, Maine
(until we can get our little paws on some fresh picked ones!)

Beyond Coffee
Jefferson, Maine
(I tried it. I loved it. I might never go back. Well, atleast for a year.)

Maine Natural Oils
Presque Isle, Maine

Maine Sea Salt
Marshfield, Maine

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ian on April 19, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Hi Sara!
    Nice job…
    I think Urban Farm Fermentory (UFF) gets all of their honey from bees they keep in Portland (East Bayside), if you are looking for closer honey. It’s a little spendy, but super delish.

    Reply

    • ian… ive never heard of the UFF…. quick search and it sounds fascinating! are you connected to it?

      Reply

      • Posted by Ian on April 25, 2011 at 11:19 am

        I’ve known Eli (formerly of Mensk and Maine Meadworks fame) for a long time. Lot’s of cool stuff going on there. Their hard cider is deeeeeeeelish.

  2. Posted by Bekah on April 19, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Since I don’t have the energy or drive to do what you are doing for my own household but am very interested in your journey I am voluntering my support in the following way:

    1. My mother and grandmother live in Buckfield and I would be happy to get you honey any time that you need it. They either come down or we go up once a month.
    2. Turner is right next to Buckfield so if you need vinegar we’ll add that to the list to be picked up.
    3. My father lives next door to Jefferson so if you can’t get your coffee down here just let me know!
    4. There is a woman on Whitten Hill Rd that makes all natural cakes and frosting using only local products and does nut free and glutten free cakes. She uses the butter and flour you listed above and uses eggs from the people 3 houses up. In the event that you want to take a break from making EVERYTHING on your own! (http://kafcooks.vpweb.com/) You can also get fresh eggs about every 3rd house on Whitten Hill and Guinea Rd in Kport.

    Good luck with your journey.

    Reply

    • Bekah-
      You.Are.Fabulous!

      I had no idea you were so connected to Downeast and beyond! I will take you up on these offers!!!

      And i am looking for local chicken eggs. Think i’ll hit up Whitten Hill tomorrow

      Reply

  3. Posted by jessi on April 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Yum! I want to try that “coffee” drink, it sounds good. where’d you buy it.

    Reply

    • Jessi-
      I found it at Rosemont in portland, and it was at Whole Foods too. I had heard all about it. It’s actually really, really yummy. Reminds me those Vienna Cafe drinks from Nestle (the ones in the can) when you add a little sugar/honey and milk. If you want an excuse to visit, I’ll bring some over and you can show me your new bees!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Annie on April 22, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Aloha! Congratulations on your upcoming year of eating delicious local foods! Thanks for supporting your local farmers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

